Southeastern-Atlantic Regional Conference on Differential Equations (SEARCDE)

History of the conference

From a Virginia Tech Mathematics Department memorandum dated August 1, 1980:

"An informal meeting was held on July 31, 1980, to discuss the possibility of organizing a regional, annual conference on differential equations in the Virginia area. Those present were Burns, Greenberg, Hannsgen, Herdman, Shaw, Stech and Wheeler.... The consensus of the group was that such a conference should be attempted. It should be participated in by certain universities, in the mid-Atlantic coastal region, where contacts and associations with the Virginia Tech differential equations group exist... The meetings would commence in Blacksburg in 1981, and subsequently rotate among area universities... it was suggested that the conferences be limited to about twenty participants, most of whom would give short talks, and feature one principal speaker."

And so began the South-eastern Atlantic Regional Conference on Differential Equations (SEARCDE). The conference is now a significant annual meeting in the differential equations community. It has evolved a tradition of bringing together senior researchers with younger recent Ph.D.'s and graduate students, and fosters an atmosphere of serious science and friendly communication of ideas.

2017 Conference    Kennesaw State University, October 7-8.

2016 Conference    Florida Gulf Coast University

2015 Conference    University of North Carolina at Greensboro

2014 Conference    University of Memphis

2013 Conference    University of Tennessee

2012 Conference    Wake Forest University

2011 Conference    Georgia Southern University

2010 Conference    Virginia Tech

2009 Conference    Mercer University

2008 Conference    University of Arkansas at Little Rock

2007 Conference    Murray State University

2006 Conference    University of North Carolina at Greensboro

2005 Conference    University of Dayton

Here is a list of all previous SEARCDE conference locations and principal speakers.

This page is maintained by Maya Chhetri and Rich Fabiano at UNC Greensboro. If you have comments or suggestions, please e-mail us.